Sri Avadhutendra Swamiji – His Divine Influence on me

Dear All,
Hari Om.
Sri Ram Jaya Ram Jaya Jaya Ram !

I had heard about Sri Avadhutendra Swamiji (did not even know his name at that time) through my mother when I was young. At that time, I did not have enough knowledge or wisdom to enquire further. My mother is the grand-daughter of BrahmaSri Gunturi Peri Sastry, who is a disciple of this Saint and who was an ardent devotee of the Lord. He had composed many Stutis and Stotras in praise of Lord Bhimeswara, Mother Minakshi, and other deities. Recently, my mother and father have published all his compositions in a book form. My great grandfather Sri Peri Sastri was an ardent disciple of Sri Avadhutendra Swamiji. Recently on my trip to India I asked my ammamma (my grand-mother) more about him and she said that many a time, Avadhutendra Swamiji would come and stay in their house. My great grandfather also composed poems in praise of his Guru.
Swami Avadhutendra Saraswati ji
I was googling about Swamiji some months back, because I felt having such a great Guru in our family is an honor and I should know more about him. Then, I came across a website in his honor developed by a devotee, in which my great-grandfather’s poems of praise on Swamiji were included. Truly, my happiness knew no bounds. I was overjoyed. They had uploaded Swamiji’s lectures, his bhajans & kirtans, his photos on their website. This is the first time I saw him. Seeing him reminded me of Sri Ramana Maharshi.

Sri Avadhutendra Swamiji is a great Sankirtan Bhakta. He moved with Rama Nama on his lips and widely propagated the chanting of Hare Rama Mantra kirtan throughout Andhra Pradesh. He always recited Hanuman Chalisa in his spare time (this I came to know through my great-grandfather’s writings). Seeing Swamiji in his photo and hearing him through his kirtans has been a wonderful experience for me. I made a CD of his Kirtanas and keep listening to them.

Brahma Sri Gunturi Peri Sastri garu
Sri Gunturi Peri Sastri gari's Stotras

It is also a matter of utmost joy for me when I read in some books of Late Pujya Swami Chidananda ji (Divine Life Society, Rishikesh, who is a great source of inspiration for me) that he has met Swami Avadhutendra ji many times in his travels to Andhra Pradesh, and he extolled Swamiji as a highly exalted Sankirtan Bhakta. Swami Avadhutendra ji has stayed in Brindavan and has been conducting satsangs throughout many holy places. Also, I was overjoyed to know that Swamiji is strongly associated with Sri Rama Nama Kshetram in Guntur (a place which I want to visit very much, owing to the uninterrupted Rama Nama japa and Kirtan that is being held there).

I am convinced that Pujya Swami Avadhutendra Saraswati’s Divine Influence on our family is a blessing. With the affiliation of my great-grandfather to this great saint, I feel I am truly blessed and my devotion to him and Rama Nama is increased manifold. How true are the words of Lord Siva in Sri RamaCharitaManas that one devotee in a family (like my great-grandfather) is such a spiritual asset to 21 generations before and after ! Through my great-grandfather’s affiliations, we are truly reaping the benefits.

I am greatly influenced by Swamiji. I sincerely pray that he bestows on me devotion to Rama Nama and also chanting of Hanuman chalisa like he did. I will post some of his videos and songs. In the mean-time, please browse this website: Sri Avadhutendra Swamiji

Yours,
In Service of the Lord & Gurudev,
Aparna

10 thoughts on “Sri Avadhutendra Swamiji – His Divine Influence on me

  1. Hi,

    I am very glad to read about Sri Avadhutendra in your website. Sri Avadhutendra is also the guru for my grandfather Late Sri Pydimarri Venkata Rama Sastry from Mogallu village. My father Sri Gopala Sarma garu has been treading in the same path.
    Would like to bring to your notice that the book written by Bramhasri Gunturi Peri Sastri garu on Sri Avadhutendra was reprinted by my father
    (http://www.sriraghuvara.com/images/book1.ppt).
    My grandfather and Sri Peri Sastri garu are probably friends, will have to talk to my father to confirm.
    I have seen in my child hoods few books written by Sri Peri Sastry garu too.

    Keep in touch

    Arun (mailaroon at gmail dot com)

    • This is srujen chunduru, Sri Savitrama garu(mastanama) is my grand mother sister. My father (Krishna Kumar Garu )and me started website last year. If you know more things about swamiji plz send me i will place in our Swamiji website…
      Vasudeva……………….
      Srujen Chunduru
      +91 9949805025

  2. This is srujen Sharma chunduru, Sri Savitrama garu(mastanama) is my grand mother sister. My father (Krishna Kumar Garu )and me started website last year. If you know more things about swamiji plz send me i will place in our Swamiji website…
    Vasudeva……………….
    Srujen sharma Chunduru
    +91 9949805025

Leave a Reply

